top of page

Helping You Get the Driving Experience You Need


"A different kind of Driving School"

Sharpstown Driving School in Houston, Texas, offers driving education services for teenagers and adults who don't just want to get their license, but to learn how to be the best driver they can be. Our services are affordable for the best quality instructions you can receive. We also offer payment plans, assisted learning, along with incentives for our Teen Program. 

   TEEN INFORMATION

  State of Texas Requirements: 32 hours of classroom & 7 hours of driving/observation

  Anyone from 15+ to 24 may take this course. 

 

 

  $50 DEPOSIT to register.

   Our Special Prices range from $390 -$460. 

    

   Package "A" ........$ 390.........PIF (paid in full)  prior to 1st day of class

   Package "B" ........$ 395.........PIF by 1st day of class

   Package "C"........ $ 410.........PIF by last day of class (min $150 on 1st day)

   Package "D".........$ 430.........PIF by 2 weeks after last class day

   

   Reverts to next package price if not paid by agreed contract date. Reverts to total price of

     $ 460 if paid after Package D date.

   ***Cost includes Classroom and Driving portion***

  Ask about additional discounts school, buddy system, etc.

   The Road Test is separate cost and is NOT included in the Teen Package*

   * Teen in Top of Class Road Test is free; have average of 95 and over and pay $25.

 

     Additional Drive Hours (more than the 10 hours we offer): $30 for our classroom students

     Teen External Driving Classes: 7 hours driving & orientation class/prep ......... $310

     Teen External Extra Driving Classes....$45.00

        

 

 

 

    ADULT INFORMATION

    Adult Permit Theory Class Regular/On line Price $145

  Call about Special Price of $135 by registering early.

   GENERAL INFORMATION OF SERVICES PROVIDED:

     - Assist in completing DPS forms and requirements

     - In Car Driving (both novice and experienced movers)

     - DPS Practice/Sample Test (Evaluation $50/drive student $25)

     - DPS Test Partnered with TPST

     - Texas Impact Video (viewing & printing certificate) $ 25

     - DPS ROAD TEST (by appointment) $75 (use our vehicle plus $25) (Evaluation $50)

     

Our Services

Teen Drivers Education

Normal Classtimes are 7 -9 pm

The Teen Class is mandatory for ages 14-17 but is optional and may  be taken in lieu of the Adult Permit Class up to 24 years of age. Texas State Requirements: 32 hours in Classroom and 14 In-Car. (7 hours driving and 7 hours observing*) 

 

 

Sixteen classroom lessons totaling 32 hours, which is NOT just teaching driving rules and regulations. But includes:

  • why the law and regulations are what they are
  • how to understand and handle your vehicle
  • handling turns, lights, curves, entering/exiting neighborhoods, urban areas, Downtown and on Highway/Freeway
  • how to deal with adverse conditions, trains, emergencies
  • special situations like being pulled over by Police Officers
  •  Road Rage
  • Basic car maintenance
  • Types of Parking
  • Buying cars and Insurance
  • The latest updates from Austin
ALL this is just the tip of the iceberg- we offer incentives and prizes and teach in an unique manner!
  1. AFTER the third day of class, students will take the written permit test, so they can go to the DPS. We strongly recommend teens DO NOT drive with their parents or adults until after they have driven with the Driving School.
  2. 14 hours In- Car: The driving program is a total of 14 hours that is seven driving hours and seven observing hours. When available we drive before and after classroom hours/on weekends and holidays. Option is given to hold last lesson as a review lesson before probation period ends. There is no cost for observation hours.
  3. If you owe money of any kind or have missed classes, you may have to wait to get your driving permit or drive hours. We have six months to complete driving. We strive to complete driving within 60 days of the last classroom date.
    After the School requirements are met:
  1. Teens are to drive with their parents/guardian/authorized adults and fill out a 30-hour log. Log no more than one hour per day, driving both day and nighttime. Daytime is before 6 p.m. and nighttime is after 6 p.m. 
  2. Person must have a valid driver's license to do the student driving.
  3. Additionally, prior to taking the Road Test at the end of their probation period they must see the Teen Impact Video and print out the certificate within 90 days of taking the Road Test on their computer. (If you need help ask us.)
  4. COME VISIT/see what we offer that other schools DO NOT!

TEEN DRIVERS ED SCHEDULE

SPRING I 2024

30 Jan thru 17 February

*****************************************

SPRING II 2024

7 March thru 26 March

*********************************************

SPRING III 2024

22 April thru 14 May 

 

                                             Normal Class hours: 7-9 pm

           If we do Saturday classes to finish sooner the class times will be 5-7 p.m.

 

       Note: Due to limited space, a required $50 reservation fee is required if not paid in full.

                              

   THERE WILL BE SUMMER CLASSES TWICE A DAY THAT MAY INCLUDE SATURDAY        CLASSES OR LONGER SESSIONS TO COMPLETE THE CLASSES SOONER. 

    EMAIL US AT sharpstowndriving@yahoo.com  or text us at 713 272-7486

    Would you rather have 2 hrs classes and on Saturday, or just longer classes of 3 hours

     each or a combination. Let us know, we want to know how to best serve you.

6 Hour Adult Theory Permit Class

Class times 8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
  • Mandatory for Adults ages 18-24, may be taken at an older age, a Six Hour Theory Permit Class followed by the written test. Test by Texas Law to be Administered only in English or Spanish.
  • ADULT 6 HOUR PERMIT THEORY CLASS
  • Biggest misunderstanding is that passing the Permit Class does not mean an individual is automatically ready for the Road Test.
  • Please be here 10 minutes before class starts.
  • Bring Texas ID/legal status documents, Social Security Card and paper for note taking.
  • Sign up early and receive Early Bird Price and Notes to Study: especially for non- English speaking clients.
  • Early Bird Price $ 135.00 Regular Price $ 145.00
  • Cash, Money Order or Credit Card (Credit card charge of $3) 
  • Coffee and tea is Free you are welcome to bring food and snacks or you can purchase them for a nominal cost.
  • Classes are offered usually on weekends, will expand during the Summer periodically.

 

ADULT DRIVERS ED SCHEDULE

 

ENGLISH

Feb 17

Mar 16

Apr 13

May 11

SPANISH (Espanol)

Feb 10

Mar 9

Apr 6

                                                                                    May 4         

**Saturdays at 8:30am (times are subject to change)

 

 

Optional weekday 6 hours may be taken for a nominal fee if the schedule allows it.


At Sharpstown Driving School, we strive to provide quality driving instruction at affordable prices. Our professionals are licensed, insured and bonded. We want to help you not only become a safe, knowledgeable driver, but the best possible driver you can be!

 

Contact us at (713) 272-7486 or email us at sharpstowndriving@yahoo.com to start you on your way to becoming a better driver.

  IMPORTANT NOTES:

  Remember:

      1. Your VOE expires 30 days from date issued, with the exception of Summer which must be obtained no earlier than the last                   week  of the last day of school.  It must include the campus/school name and campus/school number on top.

 

        2. Students may not start the driving portion if there is a pending balance due or more than 2 days have been missed/failed.

            

         3. If you cannot make it to an agreed drive time, you must call within 24 hours before scheduled drive time to avoid a 

              $ 20.00 no show fee. You cannot drive until the no show fee has been paid. 

 

        We accept Cash, Money Order, Credit Card.

         - a $50 admin fee is kept in an event of withdrawal, non-attendance, or cancellation of contract. Balance to refund is prorated.

bottom of page